Join the conversation in our forums!
- VT Find A Caregiver
Caregivers may post extensive details about their services here.
- VT General Discussion
No caregiver promotion allowed here, general discussion only.
Information for Patients and Caregivers.
Source: Official Vermont Marijuana Registry page from the Department of Public Safety – Updated with additional links and impacts of S.14 legislation on June 19, 2016 thanks to an attentive reader and VT medical cannabis patient.
For more information, visit the Heady Vermont website.
Who may become a registered patient with the Vermont Marijuana Registry (VMR)?
To become a registered patient, a person must be diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition by a health care professional in the course of a bona fide health care professional-patient relationship. A registered patient must be a resident of Vermont and has been issued a registration card by the VMR. “Resident of Vermont” means a person whose domicile is Vermont.
What is a debilitating medical condition?
Vermont law (18 V.S.A. Chapter 86) defines a debilitating medical condition as a specific disease or condition, described in section (A) or (B), where reasonable medical efforts have been made over a reasonable amount of time to relieve the symptoms:
- Cancer, multiple sclerosis, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, glaucoma, or the treatment of these conditions, if the disease or the treatment results in severe, persistent, and intractable symptoms; or
- A disease, medical condition, or its treatment that is chronic, debilitating, and produces one or more of the following intractable symptoms: cachexia or wasting syndrome; chronic pain; severe nausea; or seizures.
Who is a Health Care Professional that can sign a Vermont Marijuana Registry Form for potential patients?
An individual licensed to practice medicine under 26 V.S.A. Chapter 23 or 33, an individual licensed as a naturopathic physician under 26 V.S.A. Chapter 81, an individual certified as a physician assistant under 26 V.S.A. Chapter 31, or an individual licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse under 26 V.S.A. Chapter 28. This definition includes individuals who are professionally licensed under substantially equivalent provisions in New Hampshire, Massachusetts, or New York.
Becoming A Registered Caregiver
To be a registered caregiver you must be at least 21 years old and never have been convicted of a drug-related crime. You must complete the application form for a registered caregiver that is attached to this document or is available at the end of this document if you are reading it on the Registry web site. If you are reading this document on the Registry web site you may download the form in Word and enter the required information on your computer or print a copy of the form. Paper copies of the form may be completed with a typewriter or by hand. The form must be completed in ink.
Persons applying to be a registered caregiver must sign a release form for a criminal record check. You are also required to provide a digital photograph of yourself as well as a $50.00, non-refundable registration fee, for your Marijuana Registry Identification Card. Send the completed forms along with the other required items via US Mail (faxes and electronic filing are not acceptable) to the Vermont Marijuana Registry at the address provided on the form.
Responsibilities Of A Registered Caregiver
A registered caregiver agrees to undertake the responsibility of managing the well-being of a registered patient with respect to the use of “marijuana for symptom relief.” The use of “marijuana for symptom relief” means the acquisition, possession, cultivation, use, transfer, or transportation of marijuana or paraphernalia relating to the administration of marijuana to alleviate the symptoms or effects of a registered patient’s debilitating medical condition which is in compliance with 18 V.S.A. Chapter 8. The definition of “transfer” is limited to the transfer of marijuana between the registered caregiver and the registered patient.
Required Registered Caregiver Application
- The required registered Caregiver application is available through the below link:
- Download the Registered Caregiver Application Form
- Source: Caregiver Information on the official Vermont Department of Public Safety page
- Information brought by Heady Vermont